Perspective…

Life can really change in a blink of an eye. When something significant happens good or bad in your life it changes you.  Today I am not the same person that I was 2 ½ weeks ago. In this moment of today I see life with a different perspective. The more I stop to listen and look around I see God’s grace upon my life even more. I can’t explain to you why I am still here today and how I was able to walk away from something so horrific with just bruises, but what is even more astonishing is that two of my children and my husband also walked away with their lives intact. Our lives were spared that fall night on that highway. Talking about it seems so surreal but when I realize everything that took place that day I know God had our lives completely protected with His hands and favor. Never will I take a day for granted and I’m slowly learning to stop and enjoy the little moments.  Feeling the breeze of the wind on my face while the sun is shining, listening to the silence of an empty house that comes very infrequently, to watching the sunset, hearing my children call for me, to enjoying a cup of coffee with a dear friend, these moments will now be what resonates with me the most. A successful life for me is not about having social status, having the big house, nice car, elaborate trips, thousands of followers on Facebook, twitter etc. At one point I needed that validation from those things. Don’t get me wrong there is nothing wrong with having all that and I don’t judge anybody who does but for me it is not necessary to have any more in order to feel validated or successful. I am blessed beyond measure for this “re-birth” of my life. For far too long I have been going none stop and boy has this experience stopped me in my tracks. God showed me through this accident that life is so precious and short, to not take people, relationships, friendships and family for granted. It has never been more apparent to me than now that my success is the legacy I will be leaving behind for my children as a role model not a house or a car. The verse that comes to mind is Luke 12:24 “Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds!” God values our lives, He knows the number of hairs on our head and He knows every tear that has fallen so why do we question Him or our faith in times of difficulties? God has a plan and in the midst of our hurt and despair we may cry out to God asking why but instead we should be thanking Him for His grace. 

Leave a Reply

