The beginning of a new Journey!

This is a new journey for me, I don’t know a thing about blogging but I will learn as I go. My reason for starting this blog is to not only share my own experiences with domestic violence but to help others that have either been or are currently in a situation where domestic violence is present. I am in no way an expert or a qualified person to give advice but I have endured 10 years of abuse at the hands of a man that I once called my husband. My hope is to reach out to others and to give a voice to those who feel like they don’t have one. I am just an ordinary woman with an extraordinary story. Currently I am in the process of writing my book titled, “Memoirs of a Broken Woman.” However I am choosing to remain anonymous for the sake of my children. It is my story, my life, my scars and it is me. I can finally say that I am on the road to healing. Every day is a new day and I am grateful for every struggle, triumph, tear and smile. I am a different woman today. This is just my way of trying to make a difference!

3 thoughts on “The beginning of a new Journey!

  1. Best wishes in your book endeavor! I’m sure you will have a lot of worthwhile things to say due to your rough journey.

    The big question I always have for people who have survived domestic violence in their marriage is this: how can I help my 5 children avoid choosing the wrong spouse? Were there red flags or warning signs? Did anyone speak up about concerns during your dating relationship or engagement? Would you have listened to them if they had? How can we help others avoid this kind of pain and suffering?

    I know God causes all things to work together for those who love Him, but we also sometimes suffer needlessly by making poor choices. Choosing a spouse is so important and can be so scary. How can someone you love so much just turn on you after the wedding? It’s so hard to understand….

    Like

    1. Thank you Kim! You have some great and powerful questions and I will answer them to the best of my ability. Every domestic violence situation is different. It is not black and white. There are a lot of factors that contribute to finding yourself in an abusive relationship. For some it could be the fact that they are repeating a pattern that they saw growing up, other’s could be from events that have happened in their lives. I can only speak for myself. I was young when I got into my relationship and my family dynamic as a child was not that great. I was young and naive and now looking back there were warning signs but I choose to see them as signs of love. Domestic violence doesn’t always start just one random day. Domestic violence is disguised in many forms. In my case it started out as jealousy and control then escalated from there. Abusers are predators who are manipulative and conniving. As time went on and children become involved the situation it becomes even more complicated. Threats can start to take place about taking the children and much worse. Again all situations are different. I too have children both boys and girls. I am very open with my children about what an abusive relationship and what a healthy relationship is. I’ve tried to teach my children to pray for the man/woman that God has for them. I think the bottom line is teaching our kids that they are valuable and deserve to be treated with dignity and respect. If you know of someone in an abusive relationship the best thing to do is be there to listen, pray, support and help guide them to the necessary people that can help. Just be there! The question should never be about why women stay in abusive relationships, the question should be why do abusers abuse! It is not her fault no matter what the reasons are.

      Like

  2. I would love to read your book. That FB post really caught my attention. And really… Popped up in my news feed when I really needed it. Sending love and appreciation.

    ❤Mimi

    Like

Leave a Reply

